Although Adderall can legally be obtained by a valid prescription, if you do not have a prescription for adderall, it is considered an illegal controlled substance and possession of even the smallest amount is considered a felony in Texas.
Is having Adderall a felony?
Under California Health and Safety Code 11350 HSC, the illegal possession of Adderall is usually charged as a misdemeanor and not a felony. Illegal possession of Adderall (or Add’ll) means a person “possesses” the substance, or has it on his person or in a pocket, without a valid prescription.
What is the charge for having Adderall?
Possession of Adderall without a valid prescription is punishable as a misdemeanor. If you are convicted, you can face up to 364 days in county jail and a fine not exceeding $1,000.
Is Adderall a controlled substance in Texas?
Texas lawmakers categorize Adderall as a Schedule II controlled substance, which is the same classification as MDMA (ecstasy) and LSD.
What happens if someone is caught with Adderall?
Punishment for Selling Adderall
The punishment for possessing a Schedule II prescription drug without a prescription is usually a third-degree felony crime punishable by up to 5 years in prison and up to $5,000 fines.
Can you go to jail for buying Adderall?
A person caught in possession of Adderall without a prescription can be charged with a misdemeanor and face up to one year in jail. Of course, the consequences may change if a person is caught illegally selling the substance.
Is possession of Adderall a crime?
Though you can legally possess Adderall with a valid prescription, possessing the drug without a prescription will result in criminal charges.
Do first time drug offenders go to jail?
Even first-time drug offenses can carry jail time and you cannot count on the court being lenient. An experienced attorney can fight to protect your fights and help to ensure the most positive outcome, including possibly having your charges dismissed, reduced, or allowing you to be placed within a probation program.
Can you get fired for taking Adderall?
Under the ADA, an employer cannot discriminate based on disability. However, if over time the disability no longer exists, if the medication is interfering with your ability to perform essential job functions with reasonable accommodations, or if you are taking the medication illegally, then you can be fired.
How long is an Adderall prescription valid in Texas?
Depending on the drug, prescriptions expire after six months or one year from the date the prescription was issued. After the prescription expires, the pharmacist must obtain authorization from the doctor to continue refilling the prescription, even if refills remain on the original prescription.
Is Adderall a Schedule II drug?
Schedule II/IIN Controlled Substances (2/2N)
Examples of Schedule IIN stimulants include: amphetamine (Dexedrine®, Adderall®), methamphetamine (Desoxyn®), and methylphenidate (Ritalin®). Other Schedule II substances include: amobarbital, glutethimide, and pentobarbital.
What drug class is Adderall?
This combination medication is used to treat attention deficit hyperactivity disorder – ADHD. It works by changing the amounts of certain natural substances in the brain. Amphetamine/dextroamphetamine belongs to a class of drugs known as stimulants.